Would you define this as “Haram”?

If you’ve lived in Indonesia long enough, I believe you’ve heard some controversial statements from MUI (Indonesia Ulema Council, got this translation from google btw). Earlier this year, MUI stated that pre wedding (pre-wed) photographs are “Haram” (or in other words: prohibited) for Moslems in Indonesia.

This takes me back to several years ago, when I was still in high school, I think. At that time, my mother commented on the wedding invitations that she received. In several of them, the soon-to-be-husband-and-wife are posing very intimately. Something not well-perceived by my mother, and perhaps also by other Indonesians who lived their younger lives in the 70’s, when most people still lived in the eastern way (read: more limited relationships between men and women, especially in terms of physical contact).

As I grew older, I saw more and more wedding invitations with special pre-wed pictures on them.. And I must say that most couples gave a lot of effort (finding the best photographer, locations, concepts, etc) and of course money to shoot a memorable pre-wed picture.  Those pictures basically showed people how much the couples are in love with each other and also how happy they are together. A very sweet thing, indeed. The photo themes are also becoming more and more creative. “The intimate pose” is no longer the only theme of pre wedding pictures.

Below is one example of a cute pre-wed picture. Unfortunately I have to edit the whole picture and close the bride and groom picture.. 😀 Hope you’ll get the concept..

Courtesy of someone on Facebook.

What do you think of this wedding invitation? It has a very simple concept. The couples sitting on each side of a park bench, hence far away from each other. No revealing clothes. Inexpensive photography. But still, happy faces (sorry, can’t show it.. :p).

Would this kind of pre-wed photo for a wedding invitation considered as “HARAM”? What’s your own standards of a pre-wed picture? Let me hear from you! 😉

Surabaya, March 16th, 2010.

Cheers! *definitely in the mood for writing*

4 responses to this post.

  1. that’s not a MUI official statement,,,it’s only the East Java Consultative Forum for Pesantren Putri. so, I think, we have no obligation to apply that rule ’till the MUI respond that. I always obey any kind of fatwa from the MUI, coz I believe they all expert in any syariah problem,,,we have no much knowledge about that,,, and for The pre-wed picture, it’s depend on the picture itself, bay….when u found an intimate pose that show a couple in ikhtilat, khalwat and kasyful aurat. That must be Haram…..all of that is not to stifle the freedom, but for appreciate the women,,,hehehe…Trust me, it works…^^

  2. Thanks the author for article. The main thing do not forget about users, and continue in the same spirit.

  3. The subject is fully clear but why does the text lack clarity? But in general your blog is great.

  4. Well well well, seems like you guys are much more able to communicate in English than me. Have to learn more. Yosh.

    Btw, I agree with what Agus said. The statement isn’t from the MUI. I won’t say that prewed is haram, depends on how the couple take pictures (especially for the pose).

    Keep writing bay, I do really love to read your post 🙂

Leave a Reply

